Subversive Sewer











{July 12, 2011}   Revisiting the online store idea

About 2 years ago, I entertained the idea of selling either hard to find sewing notions or international pattern magazines. The magazine idea was a logistical impossibility and a huge cash investment, and I couldn’t decide what notions to sell.  I also didn’t know where to find a wholesaler to buy them from. However, I really want to do this, and now I’m also considering selling swimwear and lingerie supplies. I would offer fast, reasonably priced shipping, which would give me an edge. And my boyfriend can do the website, so my overhead would be very low.

Opinions?

Becky says:

I like the idea of the swimwear/lingerie supply idea. Especially if you can find those seamless foam cups– I’d consider giving bra-making a try if I could use those instead of the seam-down-the-middle patterns, but it’s hard to find a supplier for that in the US. At least, I haven’t had much luck so far. And I think it’s ridiculous to have to pay $20-30 a pop for a boring undergarment that no one but me sees when I could just make cute ones out of my jersey scraps instead!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
