Subversive Sewer











{August 27, 2010}   Hot to Trot.

You surely have seen this pattern (Butterick 5383) and thought to yourself, “that is one hot dress.  Someday, I will make it when I have the body for it.”

No?  Well, maybe it was just me.  I’m finally at the point where I’m 90% happy with my body, so I decided to make this dress.  I grabbed some chocolate brown stretch satin from Hancock’s and got to work.  Here’s what I have so far:

I can’t help but brag about how well I’m doing on this dress, and I look pretty damn good!  The only problem I’m having is with the the back “V” because the CB seam below it is sticking out all weird.  I have pics… I’ll upload and post them after the weekend.  Hopefully someone can help me through it.  Then I just have to put the sleeves on, hem it and it’s done!

You look HAWT in that dress, girl. Good for you!



Sparrow says:

Hey! Cool. I am actually picking out fabric for that one this week. (I’m thinking a knit that red they use at Frederick’s.)

I figure this body’s not going to get any hotter with age. Might as well do it now. 😉



Shellie says:

firstly, LOVE it! it looks great!

second, I referenced you in my latest blog post as I just finsihed NL 6969 which I saw you make. thought you might like to see.

thanks!!

:)S



Bunny says:

Va Va Voom! Gorgeous! When will us women accept that our bodies are beautiful despite the fact that they are not perfect. Yesterday DH and I went to a beach in Mass. that had over a 100,000 people on it. I tell you the truth when I say I did not see one barbie doll on the beach. Why are we beating ourselves up with this stuff? It is time to stop. You look hot and are rockin’. Kudos to you for “just makin’ it”.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
