Subversive Sewer











{July 13, 2010}   McCall’s 6091 tote bag

I’m still trying to catch up on my blogging!  Here is a bag I made last week, and I’m so happy with how it turned out.

Here’s the pattern envelope:

Yep, I made the cell phone case a couple weeks ago from the same pattern.  I made this from scraps left over from a skirt I made in 2005, a Union Jack print twill.  The print is so haphazard that I didn’t need to try and match anything up, but it also means it’s hard to see detail in the pic.  I used a stretch poplin for the lining because I only had a yard of it and couldn’t find a top to make from it.  The stretch didn’t work in my favor when attaching it at the top, but oh well.   I didn’t make any changes to the pattern- the size is perfect, and I needed a bag that zipped closed.  I’ve been using it to take stuff to work in.  I really love making bags, partially because there are no fitting issues!

Costs:  pattern, already used it so $0, zipper: stash, fabric: stash, lining: $5.60, D rings and swivel clips: about $5.  Not bad!

Becky says:

I love the fabric– it makes the bag so fun-looking!



I like it too! There’s no matching the fabric at the seams in a print like that; and for a sewist that’s a little joy isn’t it?



Leave a Reply

et cetera
