Subversive Sewer











{July 11, 2010}   Vogue 8390

Wow, am I behind on posting!   I have a week off work coming up, so I need to post all these projects before I start creating new ones.

Here is the fab Vogue 8390:

And the pattern envelope for reference:

I have gotten so many compliments on this top just from posting it on Facebook!  I did wear it once, and other than some accidental bra visibility, it’s great.  Using a walking foot was a lifesaver in terms of keeping the fabric from stretching out from all that topstitching on the v-neck.  The fabric is a Vera Wang poly/Lycra knit from Fabric Mart, and was about 3 bucks a yard.  I have plans to make the short sleeve version next.

And now is the time I think about getting out of bed and showering….

ETA: Costs: pattern: $4, fabric: about $8, thread: $1.75

Bonnie says:

Great top! I’d love to try this in the halter style.



mamafitz says:

that looks fantastic! what kind of halter bra do you have? i like halters, but don’t want to go braless.



subversivesewer says:

It’s a Vanity Fair Body Touch from JC Penney. It converts from a regular to a halter and probably criss cross too.



mamafitz says:

(would you friend me on facebook? i haven’t been reading the blogs much, since my regular computer died. email is mamafitz at ameritech dot net. then i can see your creations!)



subversivesewer says:

Sure, that’d be great!



Kath V says:

Hi from a sewer in Australia – lovely top. Can I ask where you managed to get the pattern for only $4??? Vogue patterns in sewing shops here are about $25 and even online I haven’t seen them any cheaper..?
Kath



[…] be pretty low cut. Looking around, I saw a couple of really cute versions on some sewing blogs. The Subversive Sewer made a nice halter top with this pattern. Journey to Couture made this shirt and mentioned that […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
