Subversive Sewer











{May 18, 2010}   Swimsuit Odyssey, Part 3

I’m still on my mission to get a flattering swimsuit for the office beach party on June 4!  Today I stopped at Hancock Fabrics to buy Kwik Sew 2690:

As I mentioned yesterday, I would never wear this suit as is.  But I felt that it was a good base to start with.  I never would’ve figured out how to have a skirt attached to a one-piece on my own.  And the bodice seemed to be what I was looking for.

I managed to get quite a bit done tonight.  I traced the pattern and cut the lining pieces.  I sewed them together to try on the suit and check the fit.  I traced a large at the waist and a medium everywhere else.  This seems to be right.  (I can’t bring myself to post a pic of me wearing a swimsuit lining muslin; I’m sure you understand why!)  I decided I didn’t like the look of the straps as is.  I borrowed an idea I saw in several of the suits I liked and cut a long band which was attached to the back upper edge and side front and extended into halter ties.   I like this look quite a bit.   Here’s a picture of the suit with the practice band/tie:

Not my best photography work; sorry about that.

Hopefully I’ll be able to work on the suit tomorrow.  In preparation, I measured the front and cut a piece of powernet in an attempt to compact my belly fat.  I’ll add that and see how it works.  I will also cut the bottom pieces (they get sewn to the bottom of the lining and treated as one piece, so I have to rip out the crotch seam and part of the side seams), the bust, tie and band/tie in my fashion fabric.  I will also need to draft the ruched “skirt” piece.  I think I know how I’m going to execute that.

If you have any suggestions or observations, I’d love to hear them!  This is pretty new for me, but it is as easy as I’d heard it was!

Gigi says:

The hardest part about swimsuit sewing is the fitting. The actual construction is really, really easy and you can save a fortune over RTW. I’d be horrified to have an office beach party, yikes.



Shannon says:

I really like the look you’re going for and I’ll be following along to see how this goes! My hat’s off to you for trying swimwear! I was just online pricing some similar looking suits and OMG! Making a suit will save so much money, not to mention you’ll get a much better fit.



Bunny says:

I’m with Gigi. I would have a horrible time showing up at an office beach party. Whose idea was this anyway? Well, at least you will get a lovely suit, custom made, out of the deal. I am interested in how you are going to do the “ruched skirt”. I like your neckline treatment, much prettier than the pattern straps.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
