Subversive Sewer











{May 17, 2010}   The Elusive, Flattering Swimsuit

After making a swimsuit for my 6 year old daughter, I decided that it indeed was easy enough to make one for myself.  Being a person with some extra baggage (read: desserts) around my waist, I decided I need a one-piece.  I’ve chosen to make a retro style swimsuit with a halter and ruched skirt.  Here are some examples I’m using as inspiration:

(L-R: Kenneth Cole, top $66, bottom $54, Dillards.com, Jantzen, $98, Dillards.com, Jantzen, $120, Dillards.com, Curvallure by Jantzen, $110, Dillards.com, Mod Cloth, $89, modcloth.com)

So you see what I’m going for.  I think it’s going to be easier to go the tankini route like the Kenneth Cole one.  The fabric I’m using is just like the Mod Cloth suit but in navy.  I also have some powernet, which I’d like to try using for tummy flattening purposes.  I downloaded the Allison swimsuit from Burdastyle.com, but i can’t find the instructions, and the reviews aren’t great.  So, I think I’ll go the Kwik Sew route and adapt.  My deadline is June 4, when our office is having an “employee appreciation” beach party.  Any suggestions?

Bunny says:

Love all of your inspirations and this will probably be very flattering on you. That halter neckline is so feminine. I love the polka dots. Do you plan a cover up?



You write interesting posts. I like it 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
