Subversive Sewer











{May 17, 2010}   Swimsuit Odyssey, part 2

Well, forget the Alison swimsuit pattern.  What a piece of crap.  Between the vague (that’s being generous) instructions, the one illustration being a photo of black fabric, their disregard for finishing the leg openings, lack of markings (even when they claimed they were there), and all around poor drafting, that suit was a waste of time.  I’ll go buy a Kwik Sew pattern.   At least I’ll be getting a quality product.  I think I’m going to buy this one and modify it:

This is Kwik Sew 2690.  As is, I’d never wear this, but I’m buying it because it has the skirt part attached to the bottom, so I wouldn’t have to do a tankini and have to pull the top down all the time to keep it from exposing my gut.  Also, the bodice of the blue version is almost exactly what I want, just as a halter.  I’m thinking I should be able to replace the a-line skirt with a fitted, ruched skirt.  I’ll be covered up without looking matronly!

Heather says:

Kwik Sew is a good choice. They always seem to do active wear well! I’ve heard several bad things about that Allison pattern.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
