Subversive Sewer











{April 17, 2010}   Relocated.

I have a house with 2 living rooms situated on opposite ends of the house.  I’ve been using one as a living room and the other as a sewing/craft room for the year and a half I’ve lived here.  However, it finally dawned on me that the reason I don’t sew as much as I could be is because that sewing/craft room is dreary and unwelcoming.  Because I’m under contract on a short sale and thus should be moving any day now, I’m not going to do anything to that room to make it welcoming.  Instead, I swapped my sewing furniture with 2 armchairs that were only used by the cats so I can sew in the living room.  This room has windows on 3 walls, plus this is the room I spend all my waking hours, so it should feel more comfortable than the other room.

Here’s what it looks like:

When I move, I’ll have “only” 1 living room, so everything will be in that room there as well.  It’s not “typical,” but when have I ever been typical??

I’m going to test it out now… I’ll let you know how it works out.

Exactly! When I had a sewing room, nothing got done. When I set up the sewing desk in the living room, I was prolific–could socialize and keep an eye on the cooking all at once. Just like you said, it’s the room where you spend most of your waking hours at home so seeing your sewing set-up is likely to inspire you to do it. Having said that, I have huge respect for those prolific sewists who sew in a special room, like Debbie. Whatever follows your rhythm is the right choice. Hey, good luck moving, Nikki!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
