Subversive Sewer











{March 28, 2010}   Fitting Adventures

I took your great advice and got a bra fitting.  However, it wasn’t the amazing revelation that I expected.  First, I checked the Lane Bryant store Cacique, but they start at a 36 band.  I’m a 34.  I went to the Bealls next store, which if you’re not familiar, is like Kohl’s Department store, only more geared to snowbirds.  Their service was terrible (apathy was a good way to describe it), so I hightailed it out of there like I do every time I go there looking for something.  Then I decided to hit up JCPenney, which was recommended by several of you.  The lady was very nice and measured me.  She got the exact same measurement as me.  34C.  I used to wear that size until I realized that is isn’t normal to have one’s boob pop out of the thing if you move wrong.  So, I brought a 34C and my current 34D to the fitting room.  Upon inspection, I was able to confirm what I had suspected: I’m lopsided.  In case that’s not clear, one boob is a C and the other is a D.  Fun times.  The saleslady confirmed that this is very common and supported my decision to buy the 34D, what I’m currently wearing.  I mentioned that my bust is lower than the apex on the fitting shell, and she felt that didn’t make me malformed, either.  And I just saw  Marta Alto lower a bust dart on a pattern in the Fit for Real People DVD.  So, it’s not just me.

So, I’ll be making a bit of padding for my smaller boob and sticking it in the bra to even ’em out.

I’m also going to try the tissue fitting technique in the FFRP DVD, now that I know what it actually means.  I can see why they don’t use fitting shells.  Not all the garments she made for that nice Ethel lady needed the same alterations due to ease (when something’s got 10″ of ease, reducing it to 8″ isn’t going to make that much difference).

One side being bigger than the other isn’t unusual at all. The other thing that I have found is that different bra mfrs size differently (sigh….) so sometimes a 34C in one brand will be perfect while a different brand will need a D, and I even have one bra that is a 34 DDD! Bras are made so many ways that it can be a most of the day adventure to find a couple that will work for you.

I also lower the bust point on patterns all the time. A friend of mine who is a designer and I were laughing at the ridiculously high bust apex points on patterns, even some commercial patterns. 11 inches from the shoulder? Sorry, not since I was in my teens! It sounds like you’re doing great with your fitting adventures. I can’t wait to see how it works out for you.



Sue says:

We’re all different shapes and sizes. I guess that’s what makes fitting so much fun? and so frustrating!
There’s lots of things we can do to make things fit us and the Fit for Real People book/DVD is great. I have the book and have used the FBA alteration a lot.
Good luck with your fitting.



Colleen P. says:

You know what, now that I looked more closely at your pics I can totally see that! Doh! I feel like such a numpty for not seeing it before, I just assumed it was a worn out bra-I’m so sorry! I wonder if you can use those “pork chop” inserts that they sell at Victorias Not-So-Secret to even things up? They’re little pork chop shapes balloons, basically-I have a bra that came with them and I use them when I really need to convince the husband that my way is the right way…



Leave a Reply

et cetera
