Subversive Sewer











{January 16, 2010}   Update

Well, I don’t have any new sewing projects to show you, but I wanted to post an update.  For years now, I’ve been trying to figure out something I could make to sell that I wouldn’t mind making lots of.  I think I got something:

Sorry for the bad pic; I’m just now learning about the settings on my camera.  Stacy of Stacy Sews posted a link to You Can Make This on her blog, which I hadn’t heard of before.  Turns out they have lots of patterns and tutorials that you can download for a fee.  I found this e-book and ordered it.  It has all kinds of little hair clippie and headband instructions.  While I don’t seem to have the aptitude for the more complicated bows, I did make the basic styles  you see above.  It is so much fun!  And it’s not that repetitive because you can use an infinite number of ribbon combinations.  I priced them at $2 each and took them to work with me.  I barely mentioned their existence and made $24 in a week!  When I told my daughter I was making them to save money for a house, she told me she would make necklaces for the same cause!  She is such a thoughtful child!

I’ll be listing these on Etsy once I figure out what to call my store.  I have one set up as “Subversive Domestics and Jewelry” but it doesn’t seem to fit the baby clippies!  It’s a real bother to change your user name, which is part of your shop’s URL, and mine is subversivedomestics.

I have another idea of something to make, and I even got a coworker willing to partner with me on it.  It’s sewing related, which I normally wouldn’t be interested in for selling, but I think having a helper will make it fun to do.  I’ll share the details when the plans materialize.

Today I took advantage of the fab pattern sales at Hancock Fabrics and bought about a dozen of them!  One was the Vogue fitting shell that I’ve been forgetting to buy for the past several years.  I have some major fitting issues that I can’t identify, so I’m hoping this will help.  I read over the instructions, and it looks like I’ll need a helper for the measuring.  Since I’m seeing my mom tomorrow, I’ll ask her to do it.  Precise is not her thing, but I think if I can convince her it’s crucial in this endeavor she’ll be more careful in measuring.  Once that’s out of the way, I’ve got the 1/4″ checked gingham ready to go!  Stay tuned!

Gigi says:

Those hair clips are so adorable! I LOVE the name Subversive Domestics. Not only is it intriguing, it fits you so well. I hope you do really well with your Etsy shop.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
