Subversive Sewer











{January 10, 2010}   McCall’s 5006

Well, I was going to make New Look 6429, a sleeveless dress, but then the weather dipped into the 20s and 30s!  In FLORIDA!  I’m from Wisconsin, so I’m dealing better than some, but I must say that being away from the cold for a few years made me realize how much I hated it!!  I don’t even have a coat anymore!

It was for that reason I decided to make a sweatshirt jacket.  Not quite adequate for the temps, but it’d help.  I couldn’t find a pattern for what I’d envisioned, which forced me to be a little innovative.  I chose McCall’s 5006, which is a lined bolero designed for wovens.  It was on sale, too.    I used view D as a starting point.

There was a dart going to the shoulder seam, plus another going to the hem.  All I did was eliminate the latter dart, skip the lining, and leave the edges unfinished.  I added a fun button I spotted at Joann’s while buying the sweatshirting.  I marked the placement without using the pattern’s markings.  And, what do you know, it turned out!

I was so happy with this pic it’s now my profile pic on Facebook!

A closeup:

I made it a week ago and have been wearing it every day since!

Cost: Fabric: $10.50, button: 75 cents, pattern: 99 cents

Great job! you look wonderful–I like the red. Thank you for bringing this pattern to my attention.



Perfect colours and lipstick on you too, you’re sparkling! Love the button.



Very cute and cozy looking! It’s been cold here in Boston, but we expect that this time of year. I can’t believe how cold it is down by you!



Bunny says:

You look great in your new little number. I am amazed as well at how cold it is down there. You are all so unprepared, I am sure. You will figure this cold gig out.



Kathi says:

Glad you were able to make something to get a little warmer!! Very cute, especially with the red!!



Laura says:

looks great, i am attempting this pattern in E and F. I seem to have misplaced piece #9 however. Has this ever happened to you and what do you do? Thanks! Love reading about your sewing projects!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
