Subversive Sewer











{December 29, 2009}   Hot Patterns 1028

I believe this is my third Hot Patterns I’ve tried, and it’s by far my favorite!

I actually sewed during the day, so I took advantage of the natural light and my proximity to the front door and brought Saffron outside for pictures:

I love this dress!  I think I might’ve actually picked the right pattern for my shape, and the right fabric for the pattern!  This is a rayon/Lycra Vera Vang knit from Fabric.com.  Here’s the pattern:

It’s funny how I bought this pattern with the intention of making the tunic (center), but made the dress instead.  It was the placket that scared me away.  I was going to use the boat neck from the dress on the tunic, but then decided to just make the dress.  The only thing I changed was not doing the in-and-out belt, which would’ve required level, straight buttonholes.  A good way for me to ruin a good dress.  I also shortened it by about 5″.  (I’m 5’4″)  My neighbor came over to fit my heat just as I was finishing it, and even he was taken aback by it!  I wore it with black leggings and ballet flats to Ikea today.  Very comfortable, and I felt good in it!

Shannon says:

Very nice! Looks like it’s very cute and comfy. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve bought a pattern for a particular view and ended up making a completely different one. I think you made a good choice, though.



Gigi says:

That’s adorable! Naturally, that’s one of the HP patterns I don’t have. I could see myself wearing that with tights and boots.



Great dress! Love Sophia’s new kitchen too. How creative and beautifully done.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
