Subversive Sewer











{November 17, 2009}   absence

I’ve had no ambition to get off the couch and sew much lately.  I’m gonna level with you.  I’m having what many call a “rough time.”  In the past 2 days, all the stability I’ve worked so hard to create for my daughter, gone.  My landlord tells me he wants to sell the house by the end of the year, and wants far more than market value and beyond what I could afford even if it was worth what he’s asking.  So, a year after I moved into a house I was so proud to be able to provide my daughter, we will have to move back into an apartment.  In another school attendance zone.  The little stray cat we feed and pet and hug every day, goodbye.  Then, in response to my outrageous request for child support, my soon to be ex tells me that instead of paying child support he cannot afford, he’s going to get a 2 bedroom apartment so she can spend half her overnights with him so he doesn’t owe me anything.  Not that he felt I needed it, since he pays health insurance, and apparently this is the only child related expense.  He acknowledges the current arrangement is better for her.

Sometimes one can’t help but wonder “why me?”  I’m a good person; I don’t deserve all this.  My daughter has never hurt anyone in her life; she certainly deserves none of this.

It just reinforces a long-held belief that the only person I can trust is myself.

Gigi says:

I went through a “rough time” for about three years. It’s very hard to keep moving forward when life throws these curve balls at you. There isn’t anything I can say to make you feel better except that you will get through this, it will pass and things will get better. As they say, when one door closes, another one opens. It’s the hallway that’s hell. Be strong!



Jane says:

There’s a famous quote from Winston Churchill: ” If you’re going through hell, keep going.”
Know that others have made it through and you will too. (small consolation I know)
Hang tough!



Sandra says:

I truly hope things will get better for you and they
will – just keep going.

Hope you take that little stray kitty with you.

All the best.



Bunny says:

We have a saying up here for such challenges, “sucks to be you, eh?” It kind of brings of smile as well as acknowledges the stink of it all. Hope you see a light at the end of the tunnel soon.



Hang in there. Tough times don’t last forever. I know this doesn’t help now but know there are people who wish the best for you and your daughter.



jamil says:

There are so many of us out here who follow your blog and just want to let you know that this too will pass. Keep going. So many of us know that with your spunk and spirit you will get through this. You are not alone.



Elbee says:

It might not be so bad for your daughter. I don’t get money from my soon to be ex either and I really wish he was able to to keep them 50/50. Right now he gets them every other weekend and picks them up after school once a week. They really look forward to spending time with him. Your little one may too. Give it a chance unless you think he’s a horrible parent.



Tina says:

I don’t know about where you’re at, but here in MI, the mother usually gets the kids (unless she’s unfit). And just because a man *says* he can’t pay CS, doesn’t mean doesn’t have to pay. He pays. Tough shit for him. Let him live in the apartment.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
