Subversive Sewer











{August 23, 2009}   Simplicity 2698

I think this is my third pleated a-line skirt in my wardrobe, but they’re great at hiding the flab!  This time I used Simplicity 2698: Here’s my version:

S2698

Pardon my lack of ironing…. oops!  I got this fabric at Joann’s.  It’s always a treat when you can find decent fabric there now and then.  The skirt has a total of 6 pleats and side pockets, which I don’t usually include in my garments but I thought I’d do something different.

S2698side

Here’s one of the pockets.  A more diligent sewer would’ve had all the stripes match up, but that’s just not my priority.  Actually, they do match up on the other pocket but that was a happy accident.  You can also see the tab of the invisible zipper, which I’m now using all the time!  I wish I’d gotten over my fear of them sooner.  They really are very easy.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
