Subversive Sewer











{August 9, 2009}   Simplicity 3833

I have so many patterns that I want to make that I rarely get the chance to make any of them more than once.  However, I liked this retro dress so much that I was determined to make it again.

Here is the first version I did in 2007:

s3833

I can’t believe it’s been that long!  I wear this dress all the time and get compliments regularly.  There was not much I wanted to change on my newest version.  The only things I did differently was to replace the (stupid) neck and armhole facings with single fold bias tape, and I forgot to do the topstitching.

S3833

I thought this was a perfect fabric to use because it’s probably retro like the pattern!  It was recently given to me by my great aunt Dolores.  I visited family in Wisconsin last month, and we all paid Dolores a visit.  I hadn’t seen her since I was a kid, and didn’t realize how neat of a lady she was!  She and  her late husband spent their retirement collecting various things: cookie jars, salt and pepper shakers, playing cards, bareware.  Dolores is also a big sewer, but her pending move to assisted living has necessitated her to downsize her belongings.  My mom and I are the only ones in my extended family who sew, and I’m the only one who regularly sews clothes, so Dolores was thrilled that the fabrics she gave me would be put to good use.  I plan to send her a picture of this dress.

Gigi says:

What an adorable summer dress. I love that fabric too, it’s a great print.



laura says:

I’m looking at this dress and thinking how cute it is and I’d love to make it. Well, duh!!! I already have! I just didn’t recognize it right away because I made mine in two colors. BTW, I was shocked at how huge my pattern was. I had to cut it down about 2 sizes.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
