Subversive Sewer











{June 21, 2009}   McCall’s 5843: Maxi Dress

I went to my friend Alicia’s wedding shower today, and her sister was wearing a maxi dress, which reminded me that I wanted to make one.  I got this pattern last weekend, but didn’t have any fabric for it.  I was going to use a skull print cotton I picked up for $1.50 a yard, but when I told Sofia she could cut some off the end, she apparently thought that meant “cut fabric off 3 of the edges.”   I should’ve taken a picture of it- it’s pretty funny.   This pattern is only for 60″ wide fabric anyway.

So, what did I end up using?  A twin size flat sheet!  My coworker Dail gave me a sheet set that she didn’t need.  My daughter doesn’t use flat sheets (neither do I), so I stored it away until I came up with a use for it.  She’s going to be quite surprised to see it on Monday!  For the trim, I used some crochet trim leftover from last year’s Halloween costume.  The zipper and thread were from the stash, so the total cash output was only a buck for the pattern!

m5843

I only briefly tried it on, but the fit seems to be pretty good.  This is perfect for those days when I’ve hit the snooze button too many times and have no time to shave my legs! 🙂

The pattern:

Leave a Reply

et cetera
