Subversive Sewer











{April 24, 2009}   New Look- How about Old Look?

New Look released some new patterns.  To be honest, I have no clue how new these are because I haven’t sewn a New Look pattern in like a year because they’ve been sucking for a couple years now.  Take a look at these things.  What a bunch of boring ass shit!

Here is something they must have pulled from their 2004 archives, when this look was the big thing:

How many times have you seen them release this same blouse??

They actually consider this a dress and not a nightie with matching robe:

How many scrub patterns do we need????  Well, here’s yet another one:

Wait, a gathered skirt with a waistband!  I’ve never seen this before!!!

But I’m an optimist.  They did have one pattern I like, even though it’s not at all original.  I needed a pattern like this and don’t feel like drafting one:

Tina says:

In the 6 or so years that I have been sewing, I’m really starting to feel like i’ve seen it all. Or, at least everything that’s come out in the last 15 years or so. I have been eye-balling a few vintage patterns lately, and I have to say that I am REALLY resisting the urge to start buying a few of those. Let’s see how long my willpower can last. lol



Leave a Reply

et cetera
