Subversive Sewer











{April 9, 2009}   I made a skirt without a pattern!

I think if patterns weren’t so cheap, my making something without one wouldn’t be such a rarity. But I somehow lack a good pattern for a knee length knit skirt and I had leftover ponte de roma from my anarchy dress.

self-drafted

Here it is! I just draped some fabric around Saffron, cut it out, decided I wanted pleats, measured, marked, and sewed. I attached a waistband with elastic in it and then finished it off with a lettuce hem, which I’d never done before. Done, and completely on the serger!

Nice! I like the pleat detail especially.



Tina says:

Congratulations! I tried drapeing once. I was trying to knockoff a dress I seen in InStyle (or something like it) magazine. I quickly realized why I just find It easier to buy patterns. lol

good job on your skirt!



stacysews says:

Great job, congratulations!!!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
