Subversive Sewer











{April 4, 2009}   Is this what good fit looks like??

Well, I’m ‘feast or famine’ when it comes to posting, aren’t I?  Anyhow, I picked up the latest issue of Threads and quickly paged through it.  There’s an article “reviewing” patternmaking software.  I’d like to draw your attention to pages 32 and 33, pictured below:

017

Now I have very little fitting knowledge, but even I can tell that the fit of this shirt is atrocious!!  There was no indication that the author of the article felt this was a BAD fit, but this definitely doesn’t convince me to buy the $399 software!

Betty says:

That is truly atrocious! Just my opinion, but I think that a lot of designers and other “industry” people are coming from an RTW background and therefore have a different (lower) standard for fit than people who come from a traditional “custom dressmaking” background.



Bunny says:

I immediately had the same thought, great blouse, lousy fit. Sometime you really have to wonder who is editing here.



stacysews says:

I really wish they wouldn’t have done it in a stripe too – it’s hard to see ‘the lines’ of the shirt, etc – it definitely doesn’t make me want to buy the software either!



dawn says:

I thought the same thing when I got that issue.



Bunny says:

I had the same thoughts the minute I saw this article. The stripes even emphasize the issues. Kind of makes you wonder about the editing.



dana says:

Yea, I agree. I was more disappointed that the article didn’t give any recommendations about any of the software. I could have gone online myself to find out the generic information they gave us. Several years ago they did a much better comparison where the accuracy-pros/cons of the programs were addressed. This article was such a let down.



Chantal says:

Yes, I thought the exact same thing. I thought to myself, “well I thought I had fitting issues, but I guess I’m not that bad!”. And before I had read this article, I had searched online about drafting myself, well I didn’t learn anything else from this article.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
