Subversive Sewer











{February 16, 2009}   McCall’s 5819

I needed something casual for the weekends, but not boring.  I saw McCall’s 5819 and liked the v-neck top.  I like that I can wear it with a tank top to add some color.  I found some cotton/spandex double knit on fabric.com and decided it was a great choice.  Here is the result:

m5819bA closeup of the front.  The ties wouldn’t stay tied, so I used a toggle instead:

m5819aHere’s the waistband:

m5819cHere is the back:

m5819dHow’d it turn out?  I wore it today and I love it except for one thing: the top is too tight in the hips.  I’m sure you can tell.  I don’t think it’s the pattern’s fault- I cut a 10 throughout instead up going up to a 12 or 14 in the hips.  Other than that, I think this one’s a winner, and I’ll make it again.

This is a cute oufit! And I need some weekend lounge wear. I’ll have to check this pattern out.



stacysews says:

Cute, cute, cute! I’ve seen this twice now and loved both versions…. this is definitely going on my must sew list!



adrienne says:

I made this in black and wore it this past weekend!! LOVE IT!



Kasey says:

I just got the pattern. Can’t wait to try it.
Your version looks great!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
