Subversive Sewer











{September 22, 2008}   The Anarchy Dress

I found this great anarchy print cotton jersey at Fabric Fairy, and I just had to have it!  I think it goes without saying that I have a rebellious side!  I thought it was a perfect fabric for the bodice of McCall’s 5700.  Here’s the finished dress:

I tried it on and I just love it!  (I don’t have a photographer to take a pic and I can’t get the self-portrait via timer thing right.)  I used a ponte de roma for the skirt.  The bodice is self lined except for the front, but it’s pleated so that helps.  The only real dislike is that the armholes are a little big.  Everything went smoothly until I hemmed the dress and my black thread kept breaking.  Grrrr!

Here’s my review on Pattern Review.

ooooh! I have been waiting to see this one made. Love yours.



Isabelle says:

Gorgeous dress! I love your choice of fabric.
I have this pattern but didn’t realize it had to be made in a knit 😐 By the way, is the zipper really necessary, given the fabric is stretchy?
Great job, really. 🙂



Gorgeous, love your choice of fabric. This is moving to the top of my list.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
