Subversive Sewer











{September 7, 2008}   Amy Butler Laptop Cover

This is my second Amy Butler pattern, and it went much better than the first one!  This is the new Laptop Cover and mp3 Case pattern, pictured below:

Naturally, I used some of my Amy Butler fabrics that I just bought.  I think this Coriander pattern is my favorite!  Here is the finished cover:

Here it is open:

My laptop is a little bigger than what this pattern was designed for, but she includes instructions for modifying the pattern to fit your laptop.  It was pretty easy, because all I had to do was widen it about an inch.  This pattern uses a yard and a half of canvas, which made this thing pretty bulky to maneuver under the sewing machine.  That canvas also ravels quite a bit, and I should have serged the edges to prevent the mess it made of my sewing area!  This is almost all straight seams so it was easier to sew than the Kimberly bag.  There are just some rounded corners.  Overall, it wasn’t too unpleasant to make, but I have no desire to make another.  I think I might sell the pattern on ebay to recoup some of the money I sunk into this project.

Here’s my Pattern Review.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
