Subversive Sewer











{June 26, 2008}   Retro madness!

I am really into retro dresses lately! They’re fun and cute without being overtly sexy. Since I found suitable fabric for $2/yard, I was finally able to make Butterick 4919, which takes 5-6 yards of fabric!

This is a 1952 pattern, and wow, did they do things differently back then! The main thing is that there are no side seams. I don’t even know how to explain it, so here’s a picture:

It’s kinda like a halter dress but with a full back over it! I actually thought it was a halter dress until I cut out the pattern pieces!

Here is the back:

When Cidell made this, she made a joke about having a vacuum cleaner and feather duster in her picture. It was so funny to me that I decided to get out my feather duster!

Here’s my review on Pattern Review!

Cidell says:

Now that is a great photo!



stacysews says:

I love this dress! How did I miss this pattern?



Leave a Reply

et cetera
